The European Union decided to open borders for nationals from 15 countries outside of the EU starting from 1 July, Euronews reports. Travellers from these countries can make non-essential visits to the members of European Union.

The full list of these countries can be found below: 

  • Algeria
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay
  • China    

In the case of China, there is a condition of reciprocity from Beijing for EU nationals. As for now, travel to China is very limited: Beijing has made fast-track agreements with some countries, including Germany, for example, but these agreements cover mostly workers who need to travel to China and diplomats.

The United Kingdom is still treated as a part of the EU, so British nationals were not affected by these restrictions. Great Britain didn't endorse any blanket restrictions for travel, and visitors from any country of the world are free to enter the United Kingdom on usual conditions. However, there's a mandatory 14-day quarantine for anyone arriving in the country.

What will happen in future?

According to Euronews, initially the EU included 54 countries in the draft list. Carribean countries like Dominica and Saint Lucia made it to the draft list, which serves as an indication that nationals from these countries could be allowed to travel to the EU in the next wave of travel restriction easenings.

It's easy to become a national of Dominica or Saint Lucia without leaving your house! Domonican Citizenship by Investment programme is one of the most affordable in the world and gives access to visa-free travel to 137 countries all over the world, including the EU and the UK.

How to secure your way into Europe

Aside from Dominican citizenship, that allows only to spend limited time in the EU, it is possible to become a citizen of Montenegro, a country with clear perspectives of joining the Union in the foreseeable future. Montenegro's Citizenship by Investment programme allows to become a citizen of this beautiful coastal country in three months with investments starting only from €350,000.

Some people just don't like to wait. The best relocation solution for investors and businessmen willing to live and work in the EU is Cyprus and its Citizenship by Investment Programme. In just six months it is possible to become an owner of a luxury villa in one of the best resorts in Europe and become a citizen of Cyprus with the right to work and live in the EU and travel all over the world visa-free.